default fashionista

the shoes

On the other hand (-er–foot)…

having a teenage daughter in the house does have its advantages. Take my wardrobe, for example. Please.

At least take my old one.  Because you see, I have entered the exciting era of In-House-Discards-Shopping.

Let me explain. She, at the shiny age of 15 , has become obsessed with clothing and fashion. With the dough she makes at her sweet hostess job, which she can walk to, yo, as in, no need for car and contingent car expenses in her forseeable future, whoohoo!  she treats herself to some great threads, which she meticulously shops for online from her favorite stores. She has gotten really good at it.

Unlike ME, who is NOT  good at it anymore, mostly because I have been broke for about 15 years now and am, therefore, pathetically out of practice.

MY “wardrobe”, and you have to understand the northern ski-town aspect of where I live to understand this possibility,  is made up of :  

1.) Jeans

And then some other stuff, most of it pushing–surprise!–15 yrs old, all dutifully “spiced up” with a smattering of local Browse N Buy “finds” which are also, obviously, old, but not to me. The few newer “pieces,”  like the essential warmth-giving kind, or the equally-useful don’t-make-you-sweat kind, are hastily bought, or gifted, or passed along and graciously accepted by fashion-unconscious moi.  M-O goes something like, “this fits and doesn’t make me look fat–I’m in, thanks!”

And though this sounds like I am a bag lady, or must look like one,  my “look” really isn’t that bad. I don’t think.

Truth be told, some of my trove dates back even further than pre-Mother days (which, when analyzed, makes no sense and maybe will make your head explode).   “vintage!” “shabby-chic!”  I KNOW the words!  For instance, my leather dingo boots I bought when I was, I think, 17. Even I know these things totally rock. Fashionistas  sometimes ask where I got them, and I looove answering (read: lying about) that question…because I still remember buying them on store-closin’ dirt cheap clearance–$29.99 or something absurd even for boots that nobody wore in the 1980’s–and now when I see similar grade boots in those indigo-and-turquoise-worshippin’, horses-on-our-Montana-ranch sort of fashion catalogs, they list at more like $400.

“Sundance, mail order. Fall ’11 issue, maybe…hmm, I for-ge-e-t.”

 

Ha ha!  I win. But I digress.  My *vogue-a-licious teenage daughter wouldn’t be caught dead in something from last year, never mind  the last decade. She has no perspective on that kind of thing, bless her teen-age heart. She gets tired of her stuff on a more “seasonal” basis. I used to be irritated by this. But that was before she had an income. Now I just smile, because I know that soon, very soon, this sort of fashion behavior will become impractical.  I told her this a few times, and  I think she gets it in theory, the whole scrap-your-way-thru-college thing…”poppin’ tags, $20 in my pocket, sure, that’s cool and am-us-ing, Mom”  Meantime, she buys, she wears, she moves on.

Enter the Mom. I am sort of small, and boyishly shaped…which is a nice way of saying that even as a 40-something I have no boobs or hips.  Which in this particular scenario is a great advantage. HER piles of discards become MY upscale Scrap N Shop from Home, and the staples of my new N groovier wardrobe.

Okaay, maybe NOT the roadkill-inspired superskinny jeans

and avoiding  the more upsetting teenage t-shirt designs

But that still leaves  jackets, shirts, shoes, boots, sneakers, scarfs .. yo Macklemore! this ain’ no Goodwill neither!  .. hats, purses, tote bags–breath–miscellaneous accessories and  jewelry.

Voila!   Scrapper-Turns-Fashionista, all for the modest price of…

oh……………15 years of selfless mothering.

##

_____________________________________________________

* vogue-a-licious is a word I invented today, until I thought again and Googled it, finding this:

About 117,000 results (0.28 seconds)
Search Results
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dianadi65
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 17:40:42

    Reblogged this on go down swingin' and commented:

    Oldie-but-goodie if you are just now tuning in 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

